Love more but most importantly Express more! (2 min read)

Me and my brother have an age difference of six years. So, I was a lonely child for the longest time. My dad was in the navy. So, he kept getting posted and I kept changing schools. My parents insisted that I go to a boarding but I was adamant on not leaving them. This life excited me. I enjoyed change. After every two years.. change of school, change of friends, change of place. All this gave me an adrenaline rush! I hated stagnancy. I wanted to keep moving, to keep travelling, to see new places, meet new people. There were no cell phones that time so I couldn’t stay in touch with the ones I loved even if I wanted to. So, this had become a way of living for me. To get used to heartaches, to have no attachments with places, things & humans. Ofcourse, I had my moments of weakness but I had learned to guard myself up..to bottle up my feelings…to accept that nothing lasts forever! I enjoyed a tremendous learning experience which also resulted in me maturing up much earlier than my inmates. I was the girl who had a view point about everything but when it came to expressing my feelings, I just couldn’t do it . I could show love by caring for people but never express it. My parents used to often hug me and tell me how much they loved me but I could never say those three words. I had accepted that I was incapable of expressing myself. I thought maybe there are certain things that are meant to be understood on your own but not said. My understanding of relationships was all on a very platonic level which most people dint get “obviously.” One day, two of my friends : Veronica and Cameron had come over to my place for a sleepover. Veronica was one of my best friends but I dint know Cameron very well. We had just met a couple of times in parties and sometimes hung out together in college only in a group, never alone. I wouldn’t call her a friend but yes we were cordial. We chatted for long when Veronica saw the clock and said “Omg! It’s 2:00 am! I have an early yoga class tomorrow! I am sleeping. Goodnight girls” . I was a little tired myself so I asked Cameron ..”Umm so, wana slee…”.. She cut me short and said. ” I miss him” I looked at her in amazement. “Who are you talking about?” She went on : ” I was dating this guy from school. We were madly in love. After college, we had decided to tell our parents and tie a knot soon. He was a family friend. Our families were more than happy to know about our decision. Everything was going as planned. The date was set for the engagement, the outfits were ready and the invitations were out. One night, we had a huge fight. He called me while driving back home to apologise and make up. I was mad at him. He told me how much he loved me and I just hung up on him! After five minutes of my call being disconnected, he met with an accident and died on the spot!” Her eyes were heavy with tears. I dint know what to do? What to say? I was not good at these things. I just lay there..blank ..feeling so bad for her. I couldn’t move. I felt numb! “I lost him that day!” She continued, ” I often feel his bewitching sillage whenever alone, like he is here with me”. I understand that everyone has to go one day and you can’t bring back the dead. His memories would stay forever in my heart but what I regret the most is to not being able to tell him how much I loved him in our last conversation!” His death has taught me a lesson. You must always tell people how much you love them and the importance they hold in your life because you never know what lies ahead ! Don’t regret saying it but instead regret not saying so!” She slept after saying this but I couldn’t sleep that night. I woke up the next morning and hugged my parents good morning and told them how much they meant to me. Since then, I never step away from telling people how much I love them. I never met Cameron after that day but that one night changed my entire viewpoint in life. I have started believing that every individual comes to our life with the sole purpose of teaching us a lesson. Some are hard learned lessons while the others are just stories of wisdom. It is up to us to reason situations and learn something out of them. So, whoever is reading this, pick up the phone right now and call your parents,friends,husband/Boyfriend/girlfriend ,siblings and tell them how deeply you love and value their presence in your life

8 thoughts on “Love more but most importantly Express more! (2 min read)

  1. Loved this post of yours! It reminded me of the power of unconditional love that our dogs demonstrate so frequently. Anyway, dropped by to offer my thanks for your recent decision to follow Learning from Dogs. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

